Pensions Committee

Royal Mail Group's Pension Committee reviews funding, benefits, scheme structure and strategic developments impacting the Group’s occupational pension schemes and represents the Group in discussions with the Trustees of the Group’s occupational pension schemes.

> Pension Committee - Terms of Reference (PDF)


  • Les Owen

    Committee Chair

    Les Owen

    Committee Chair



    Appointed to the Board

    As a Non-Executive Director on 20 September 2013. Les became Chairman on 19 September 2018.

    Key areas of prior experience

    Strategic skills, international experience, finance, pensions, insurance

    Current external appointments

    Non-Executive Director of Discovery Holdings, a South African listed health and life insurer

    Previous relevant experience

    Group Chief Executive Officer of AXA Asia Pacific Holdings Ltd, a member of the Global AXA Group Executive Board and responsible for AXA’s Asian Life Insurance and Wealth Management operations

    Chief Executive Officer of AXA Sun Life plc

    Non-Executive Director of Post Office Limited

    Non-Executive Director of Just Retirement Group plc

    Non-Executive Director of CPP Group plc

    Non-Executive Chairman of Jelf Group plc

  • Stuart Simpson

    Committee Member

    Stuart Simpson

    Committee Member

    Current role

    Appointed Chief Finance Officer in July 2017.

    Previous work history

    Joined the Royal Mail Group in 2009. He was appointed as Deputy Chief Operations Officer in January 2014 and subsequently appointed as Director of Group Finance in July 2015.

    Prior to this, he was running Operations for the West Region of the UK and was Finance Director of UK Operations.

    Worked in the automotive industry for 15 years with senior roles in Finance and Strategy, the last 10 of which were based outside the UK.